Second-hand Santas

img_6226It’s Black Friday. Mall parking lots are crowded. But there’s plenty a room in the parking lot at Sister Thrift. My son and I spent 20 minutes browsing through all manner of unexpected items, chatting with the sales people, and collecting treasures we didn’t know we needed. At no point did I experience stress. I was delighted when my son selected a Walkman cassette player, and found some cassettes to go in it.

Our experience was an extension of Thanksgiving rather than a rush towards Christmas. It was an invitation to be connected to people and stories in the material world in a manner you just can’t get at Macy’s.

I bet some of you are spending this weekend cleaning up and cleaning out your homes. A blessing on all of you; it’s hard and holy work. Why not bring some things over to Sister Thrift and extend a blessing? And linger for a while when you make your drop-off. There’s a second-hand Santa in there with your name on it.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Community, Watertown and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.