Courage and Cookies

img_6124This is Sara Emerson. She is a Baker. Today at Faire on the Square she was, for the first time, selling her baked goods to the public. She baked up batches of fudge and lemon muffins and chocolate chip cookies (which I purchased – delish!) in her apartment, lovingly packaged them, and set up shop for her debut in Watertown. I am in awe.

People who start their own businesses amaze me. It takes such courage. It’s such a risk. People sometimes tell me they can’t imagine giving a sermon or showing up to pray in a hospital room or leading a church council meeting. These are things I do, and they don’t scare me. But everything I do, I do within the context of a larger entity, and I’ve been handed the authority to do them. The buck doesn’t stop with me.

I suppose we all have to muster up the courage to do things that feel hard to us, and that “hard” is different for everyone. “Hard” could be talking with your brother about the presidential campaign. “Hard” could be saying hello to the person next to you on the bus. “Hard” could be admitting you are wrong about something.

This week, Bishop Steven Charleston wrote about courage, and his words have followed me around for several days, reminding me to stay in awe of the many kinds of courage that keep the word turning. I leave you with his thoughts (and encouragement to buy some cookies from Sara. Find her on facebook here).

I want to say a word about your courage. I am not talking about courage in the action hero sense, not the rare moments when human beings are called on to do some extraordinary feat of daring. No, I am talking about the kind of courage that does not depend on adrenaline, the kind of courage it takes to face life as it comes, to deal with illness, family struggles, deep disappointments and unexpected changes. The courage of being a parent or a partner. The courage of believing in something, the courage of being willing to try again. I want you to know how much I respect you, how much we all respect you, for having the courage to love.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in courage, Watertown and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.