Far from Mt. Auburn Street

photoI haven’t been blogging about Watertown recently because I haven’t been in Watertown recently. I’ve been on the road. Well, lots of roads: I-90, I-75, I-69, and I-71. I’ve been on several of those dusty service roads leading to hotels right off the highway. I’ve been in my hometown, traveling Dorothy Lane, Ridgeway, and Far Hills Avenue — roads I know so well I could drive them on a moonless night without any streetlights.

I am always glad to see the sign in the photo above, which marks an exit off M-31 in Western Michigan. It marks the turn off to a place near and dear to my heart. When I see it, I am filled with thankfulness and memories. Each twist and turn on Stony Lake Road opens up a mental photo album: Here is where Russ taught me to fix a bike; here is where I led high school students on a crazy hike as part of a “quest”; here is where there used to be a restaurant that served amazing cherry pie.

When I return to life at the corner of Mt. Auburn St. and Russell Ave., I bring all these journeys and places with me. And you bring your journeys, your roads, with you. What a beautiful mystery it is that we carry whole worlds with us as we encounter one another. Simply walking through a shop in East Watertown brings together journeys through East Boston, Milan, Damascus, Aleppo, villages in Mexico, military outposts in Pakistan.

This summer, I want to make time to hear about others’ journeys. Tell me about your road trip. Tell me about the roads you carry in your heart. Tell me how those roads brought you to this one. I’ll be richer for it.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Community, Watertown and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.