These Children, They Are Not (And Yet They Are) Your Children….

At the Watertown Early Childhood Education Faire

At the Watertown Early Childhood Education Faire

I always enjoy the Watertown Early Childhood Education Faire. A school cafeteria packed to the brim with educators, caregivers, parents, babies, and small kids is a room packed to the brim with hope and possibility. This year I was splitting my time between promoting Vacation Garden School and supporting the Girl Scouts who were doing a craft with the little ones, which made the adventure doubly fun.

As I watched parents gathering brochures and signing up for mailing lists, I thought about how many decisions parents and caregivers make, and how hard those decisions feel. This preschool or that one? Computer camp or soccer camp or just give the kid a break? Each decision can feel monumental, as though an entirely different future will unfold on this path, versus the other.

And sometimes it does. Sometimes a child’s life goes one way or another based on the day camp, the playdate or the movie, for better or worse. And sometimes it doesn’t: it’s just another playdate or day camp or movie. Parenting is a spiritual practice of holding responsibility with grace and care, while learning to reconcile oneself to what one cannot control. Twelve years into this vocation of parenting, I am still learning this practice. In the meantime, I’ll make some seed art, eat some Thin Mints, and watch in wonder as my children become who they are, partly in response to decisions I’ve made, and partly due to a providence way beyond my understanding.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.