Evangelizing the Clown

Making the most of Faire on the Square

Making the most of Faire on the Square

Faire on the Square is always a ball: music and dancing, free tchotchkes, and sno-cones. What’s not to love? But my favorite part of the Faire is the unexpected encounters and surprising conversations that occur.

This year, a stranger asked me to prayer with them,  I did some marriage counseling, and I danced with students from Perkins. Meanwhile, my friend Angelita did an amazing job chatting with people about our church. Angelita goes into every moment of her day just sure that God has something good waiting there. And she takes joy in meeting people and sharing her enthusiasm for our parish community. Everyone is a blessing and potential friend, in her eyes, from the neighbor who has just moved here from Mexico, to the exhausted parent of a toddler, to a man wearing face paint and a yellow wig.

Who knows whether the clown will show up at our yard sale or our contemplative prayer service? But this I know: Underneath his costume there is a child of God who deserves a smile, a prayer, and an invitation to community.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Community, Watertown and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Evangelizing the Clown

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Festival – Texas State Fair Edition! | RevGalBlogPals

Comments are closed.