My Left Foot

Me, not going very far.

Me, not going very far.

These are my feet. I’m standing on Russell Avenue. But I won’t be walking up the sidewalk very far any time soon. No long walks by the river. No hikes to enjoy the fall leaves changing. Three more weeks of an ankle brace, elevating the leg, and some ice packs. Rats.

It could be worse. Really. Everything will heal. But navigating the world more slowly and carefully since my injury has sharpened my awareness of how much I take for granted. Mobility is an amazing blessing, and for most of my life I’ve just tooled around, unaware of how lucky I am. I’ve advocated for those living with disabilities, but I’ve never been the one who needed the elevator or the ramp myself. I’m learning a little now about the small inconveniences that impede many people on their daily round. I just need a quart of milk, and I have to walk all the way to the back corner of the supermarket?!

I’ve revised my fitness goals for the fall. I’m trying pilates. I’m focusing on eating well, rather than walking miles. And as I travel at a slower pace, I’m stopping to talk with people who are also taking the elevator or the ramp. I’m holding doors open for those whose mobility is even more limited than mine. I’m giving thanks that one of my ankles works fine, so I can, indeed, keep walking.

What is changing your perspective these days?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Left Foot

  1. Rob Flynn says:

    Miles are only one way of marking exercise. I try to get people I coach to think about minutes of effort – I went swimming for 20 minutes – I did 45 minutes of yoga – I did 5 minutes of weight training – I did 3 minutes of stretching while waiting for the bus.

    Get well Amy ;]

  2. Marya DeCarlen says:

    Having had a broken ankle before (in college) and not having the perspective to slow down and appreciate more, my mobility and my blessings, I am grateful for your words….and what’s more, I am grateful for the voice that I hear behind them, because I am in relationship with you.

    I have been wearing shoes that are worn out…it is the “Iowan” not the Yankee in me. Unfortunately, I have been not paying attention to what that practice has been doing to my body so I am in physical therapy. I am of course, the youngest patient in the clinic (at 58) and see many others as they wait in the reception area in wheel chairs and walkers and more…..and see us all walk down the hallway to tables and therapists for healing. So just yesterday I became aware that my physical therapist is a healer. While I was sitting with ice on my hip….I thought…she is one of many who are raising paralytics to walk…..so I asked her to come witness to our church school about how she connects with that bible story….AND….she said yes…and she will bring her 6 and 9 year old to hear her!!! Blessings abound when you simply slow down and pay attention…
    prayerful for your on-going healing, marya+

Comments are closed.