The Shimmering River

Image

My son and I were out and about, checking things off the “to do” list. This list included my work-related stuff (buy toner, deliver get well card, meet with warden), our domestic needs (get more Frosted Mini-Wheats), and his Halloween preparations (find zombie teeth). A busy day zooming about from parking lot to parking lot, up and down Nonantum Road and Arsenal Street, with outlying stops in Kendall Square and Newton Centre.

It was yet another gobsmackingly beautiful fall day in Our Fair City, but I was too busy to notice…Until about 3:45 pm, when I noticed the light shimmering off the river to my right as I drove west (again) on Nonantum Road. The sun was just about to think about setting, and there was an intense glow growing. I glanced up. It literally took my breath away. I gasped at the beauty.

As soon as we safely traversed the craziness that is the intersection of Nonantum and Galen Streets, I looked for a place to park. We leapt from the car and trotted down to the riverbank, re-calibrating the truth of this day. My son was as giddy as I was, stomping through piles of leaves and enjoying the sound of the wind in the trees.

This photo shows the glittering reflection of sky and trees in the Charles River at one moment of that day: nature-made impressionism, a stunning vision, gone within milliseconds. 

Are you having a busy day? Questing for your own version of zombie teeth? Glance. Breathe. Touch. Just take a moment. That’s all. You know what to do.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.