“Housebound”

Image

The sun sets over a Nemo-ized backyard.

We’ve been “housebound” for two days. Nemo busted through here with historic force, dropping historic mounds of snow on us. Governor Patrick wisely ordered everyone off the road, so even if one were tempted to zip down to Dunkin Donuts (never more than a few blocks from home in our region), the prospect of “one year in jail or a steep fine” as the official message read, put the kibosh on that idea.

But how “housebound” were we? My son spent most of the morning creating a whole cartoon universe. My daughter built an elaborate, gorgeous tree-based civilization of woodcutters, coal miners, and harvesters on Minecraft. My husband wrote scripts describing music from another era, helping listeners be transported to Prague, Vienna, and London, back in the day. And I spent more time than I probably should have on facebook, through which dozens of my “housebound” friends conversed all day, sharing up-to-the-minute photos of snow drifts, snow men, and snow covered Priuses.  We were the opposite of lonely, each connecting with “somewhere else” for a long stretch of time, uninterrupted by the need to get to swimming class or run an errand.

I am thankful for this housebound time. And thankful to Governor Patrick for forcing everyone off the road. And thankful for my husband, who did the snow-blowing and shoveling. And, much as being “housebound” was lovely, thankful that tomorrow we can be together again in real time with real friends around a real table with real bread and give thanks together.

 

 

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Housebound”

  1. Cynthia Hallas says:

    That’s lovely, Amy. I remember a couple of those “housebound” times in Lancaster, when we couldn’t get out but always managed to find lovely, inspiring things to do. All of you out east have been in my thoughts today.

Comments are closed.