Prayer for Mid-January

Image

Dry branches reaching for the sun near Common Street

I am thinking about the dryness of the air, the dryness of my skin and the static clinging me to my coat, my scarf, my to do list.

I am thinking about so many thank you’s un-thanked and well-wishes un-wished. Dust undusted off the bureau and the curtains, papers unfiled here and there, in piles about the house. And Lent coming way too early, like a guest showing up before you’ve vacuumed.

I am thinking about the gift and the challenge of deciding, each day, each hour, each minute what needs attending to, where to focus one’s heart and hands, and how to use those crazy gifts of the spirit Paul assures us we have. 

Come Holy Spirit and moisten my soul.

Let me be present to what is possible

and release into your care what is not.

Like the richest of salves, cover my hands and my heart

in this deep midwinter,

that I may be relieved from fear

and renovated for love’s sake.

Amen.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer for Mid-January

  1. Thank you for this beautiful prayer, Amy. Much needed at this time in my life and in the lives of many others I’m sure!

  2. Kelly West says:

    This blog is just the right size for a quick bus ride read.

    The prayer is soothing to the hands and heart.

    Kelly

    Sent from my iPhone

Comments are closed.