O Little Town of Thoughtlessness

Image

Too cool for rules

Who are the rules for?

I laughed when I passed this scene on Rosedale Ave.   I then turned on to Pleasant Street, and within a few blocks, I had been almost sideswiped by a guy who went around a line of cars waiting to turn left in order to turn left in front of them. Further down my route, I watched two cars bust through a red light at North Ave. And then there’s the intersection of Seyon and Grove St. at the Waltham line: Don’t get me started about that one.

Having lived near Nairobi, I can attest that Boston does not have the worst drivers in the world, despite the rumors. But I do wonder what goes through the mind of otherwise thoughtful, sane people when they blatantly disregard the rules of the road. These folks are parents, taxpayers, business-owners. They are people who follow a lot of rules every day. Some of them make rules for others and expect compliance.

I wonder if our motoring lives are an outward and visible sign of our spiritual lives. Do we understand how deeply we are connected — how intimately our own decisions and attitudes affect others? Do we perceive our health and joy as connected to the health and joy of others? Do we honor the “Thou” in the car behind us, or see “It” as an impediment to our success?

I have a vision of a world in which the traffic on River St. is like the passing of the peace at church. May it be so.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.