Imagining a world…..

Craig Bostick transforming a wall into a story.

This is Craig Bostick, also known as Aquaboy. Last night my kids and I busted through the Watertown Library to stock up on Goosebumps books and “anything with dragons” (to quote my daughter). Craig was painting on the wall of the children’s room.

He had penciled out a fabulous design, with cartoony kids, raccoons, ghosts, and assorted other cool things. This is a great piece of art, because no matter where your eye lands, you’re going to want to look at the whole thing: you won’t be able to just look at one part and then rush out. He was just starting to paint it, using a color that reminded me of Blue Moon ice cream, which I ordered whenever I could as a kids, and which made my parents roll their eyes.

This Sunday at Good Shepherd, we’ll be hearing the part of Mark’s gospel where Jesus lifts up a little child and tells his distracted, squabbling, status-seeking disciples to honor the child. I think this is good advice for us, too. Part of doing this is welcoming the child-like imagination each of us still has inside us — The part of our souls that day-dreamed about dragons and ghouls and neon ice cream when we were sitting in the way back of the station wagon on long car trips as kids.  Imagination connects us to a deep wisdom, unearths possibilities not located on the desktop of our computers, and opens our hearts of the Spirit’s stirrings. It’s holy kids’ stuff for everyone.

I’m looking forward to seeing the finished painting in the children’s room of the library. Check it out, and check out the artists’s other work here. And while you’re there, sit down and read a story. Or listen to a child make one up. Or try to make up a story based on Craig’s painting.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.