Get (mostly) organized.

Getting it together, file by file.

Stopped in for a cool beverage at a cafe this afternoon. Another patron of this establishment had brought dozens of manila files filled with papers of some sort and spread them out on one large table. He had his computer on another table & spent time rifling through folders, jotting notes on the computer, labeling, tossing, and searching around. He was clearly “getting organized.”

His behavior, while uncommon in a cafe where people generally sit quietly tapping on their iPhone or chatting with a friend, helpfully drew me into reflection on the idea of “getting organized.” It’s a high value in our society and something most folks struggle to do. My “stuff” isn’t spread out on tables at Starbucks, but it is spread out on my computer screen, my dining room table, and in my brain. Companies like The Container Store, people like Professional Organizers and media like HGTV thrive because I am not alone in my desire to get it together. And we need help — a system, a principle around which to sort, incentive from watching others do it.

I think organization is good, in general, especially in the service of love or justice. But I think it’s important not to organize the Holy Spirit out of the room. A little room for chaos is OK — good for us, probably. Jesus was not the most organized guy in the world. He showed up late for appointments (like with Lazarus), let himself get interrupted (“Who touched my garment?”), and made a mess of the tables in the Temple. So if a few dust bunnies are hopping around your kitchen or your mind, not to worry. Bless them, and take a nap.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get (mostly) organized.

  1. Melanie says:

    I need to reread this every day. Maybe twice…

  2. Thank you, Amy, for this gentle reminder that “getting organized” is only a means to a greater end.

Comments are closed.