Can you hear me now?

On a beautiful summer morning, what a blessing it is to sit al fresco enjoying a coffee. This week, I found myself outside a local cafe, my table close to several others. And then came the moral dilemma.

The folks sitting next to me we’re chatting, loudly, without abandon, about the scandals happening at their church. Adultery, accusations, all sorts of moral disaster – they spoke of it all, voices raised, with exasperation.

I wasn’t trying to eavesdrop. But there I was, their story in my auditory zone, even more noticeable than the music I would have heard inside.

Should I have told them, “Uh, I can hear you”? How about, “I wonder whether you might speak more softly?” Or this: “How would you like it if people talked about you in public that way?”

Or maybe I should have moved inside.
Thought?

20120712-122147.jpg

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can you hear me now?

  1. allogenes says:

    “This conversation is fascinating; mind if I take some notes for my blog?”

  2. Brad Parsons says:

    Sounds like a great opportunity to break out the collar and practice a good ‘ole hail and brimstone. After two more double espressos of course.

  3. “I’m so sorry to hear about all this unhappiness. I’ll be sure to remember everyone affected in my prayers this evening.”

Comments are closed.