Easter bunnies….and flamingos

Image

A riotous Easter scene in Spring Street.

Before I go off-line for the rest of the Triduum,       I want to thank the Watertown resident who adorned his or her lawn in the manner shown above. I drove by this house yesterday while feeling rather bogged down with Holy Week details, worried about my as-yet-unwritten Easter sermon, and late to pick up my daughter for soccer practice.  This festive, nay, wacky lawn display made me (1) laugh, (2) stop the car, (3) get out for a better look, and (4) remember that everything I was doing was a blessing and a celebration of blessing. Lighten up, McCreath!

So I offer this photo to you, Flamingos and all, and I dare you to add a few flamingos to your Easter decor. What do flamingos have to do with Easter? Well, evidently, in dream symbology, they represent “rising above the fray” or “having a higher insight into the world around you.” (I read this online, so it must be true).

 Have a great Three Days. Remember to laugh, get out of the car, get a better look, and celebrate blessing. Get a flamingo, if it will help you do so.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.