Once and Future Toy?

I ran into this unofficial installation at the Arsenal Center for the Arts, when I stopped in to pick up the clay creatures my kids had crafted over winter break. Poor rocking horse, all broken and done for, waiting to go out in the next trash collection.

If my children had been with me, there’s no way they would have let me leave it there. “Let’s fix it!” or “We can use the head as a puppet!” or something else hopeful would have led to “pleeeeeze, mom.”

Scripture says not to put new wine in old wine skins. But it doesn’t say not to make a new wineskin out of an old one. I’m glad my children are learning to recycle, reuse, and renew. And I think the growing popularity of thrift store shopping and found object art is great.

As someone who grew up in an era of new is better, more is more, and “whatever,” I am re-learning the creativity, resourcefulness, and thrift commended in most sacred texts, including those of my own tradition. And a little child shall lead me.

20120307-172908.jpg

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once and Future Toy?

  1. Louise Forrest says:

    I appreciate your opening up a discussion about reusing and recycling and re-purposing objects. Once I made a pact with myself to use no bags during the month of August. Stunning how many bags you are offered for take out, plastic bags for wet bathing suits, nice crisp white paper bags for perscription medication. Several times I had to go back to my bike or car to get the bag I needed.

    Watertown Community Gardens wants to collect used tools like rakes, hoes, trowels for their new community garden on Grove Street. This will be at our DPW recycling day. Here is the last word from an article by Common Earth: Watertown District C Councilor Vincent Piccirilli reported that we pay to have approximately 13,750 tons of trash hauled away each year. With a disposal, or tipping fee, for our the trash at the incinerator in North Andover of $68/ton, Watertown spends roughly $935,000.00 in tipping fees which is in addition to the cost of collection. Piccirilli goes on to say, “If we can reduce Watertown’s trash rate by 20 percent (by increasing the recycling rate to about 40 percent) we will save $187,000 the first year.” That’s a substantial incentive to switch to single stream recycling and to limit trash collection to one toter per week per household.

    Read more: Guest Column: What’s single stream recycling all about? – Watertown, MA – Watertown TAB http://www.wickedlocal.com/watertown/news/x874346889/Guest-Column-Whats-single-stream-recycling-all-about#ixzz1okrlLG8X

Comments are closed.