A Tale of Two Buses

The View From the Quiet Bus

The two major bus lines that transect Watertown have unique personalities, at least in my experience.

 The #71 bus is a quiet bus. Most folks read. Some text. Some look out the window. I took this photo from my seat. No one seemed to notice.

The #70 bus is not a quiet bus, in my experience. Lots of folks in animated conversations, in a variety of languages. People who know one another from riding the same bus day after day, sharing observations and opinions all the way up Arsenal Street and into Cambridge.

I wonder how one bus develops a quiet “culture” and another a chatty “culture.”

Is the bus a community space for you or a sanctuary from which you rest from community?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Two Buses

  1. allogenes says:

    #71 and #73 are Harvard Square buses.
    #70 is a Central Square bus.
    That pretty much explains it, no?
    (#73 can show a livelier side at night, when teens are going home to the suburbs via the Waverley commuter rail stop.)

Comments are closed.