What’s a “better” life here?

A pleasant lunchtime with an improved view

This photo shows men enjoying lunch at the recently refurbished D’Angelo’s on Mt. Auburn, across the street from a recently refurbished office building, across the recently refurbished parking lot from a recently refurbished Dunkin’ Donuts (where one can enjoy one’s Boston Creme Donut in a French cafe-like atmosphere.)

Yes, the economy is tough, but in some pockets of town, the green blade riseth. But is a donut on the sidewalk the kind of development that will make a difference?

What kind of “development” do we need now? What can we do even now — even in the midst of our own, personal economic downturns — to make it happen?

A new group in town called Sustainable Watertown has some ideas about this. Their first idea is to buy local: help your neighbors thrive by supporting their businesses. They also invite us to think about how our every day personal decision affect the quality of life in our town: Should I walk or drive? Organic or standard pesticide in my yard? Spend Saturday watching the Dr. Oz Show marathon or cleaning the riverbank?

At our church, we’re preparing to harvest the fruit on the apple and pear trees in our yard to give to the Watertown Food Pantry. We’re reaching out to the unemployed. And we’re trying to use less styrofoam and more mugs (a hard habit to break!). It’s a start.

What are your ideas? What are your commitments? What’s good “development” to you?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s a “better” life here?

  1. I wish I had better responses to this off the top of my head! Buying local is something I’m striving to do more of as well. I’m doing much better with that for non-food items so far, but I’d love to apply that to food for a variety of reasons–many of which, this side, are tied to my 2-year-old son!

    Thank you for this point to reflect on!

  2. Christopher Calderhead says:

    “Organic or standard pesticide in my yard?”

    I find this kind of shocking. Are you saying people put poisons on their own grass? That’s nuts. Grass grows just fine. A bit of clover or crabgrass won’t do any harm. Why would people poison their own backyards?

Comments are closed.