Faire on the Taxpayer-Funded Square

Bill and the bean poll at the WCES table

I did not expect to spend most of my time at the Faire on the Square thinking about taxes.  But “taxes” turned out to be the theme of my day.

First, a man came up to our Good Shepherd table to get an apple, which was our version of swag for the day. I said, “May I tell you about our church?” he replied, “What do you think of Obama’s economic plan?” Before long, we were exchanging views on the idea of bailouts, and opinions about paying taxes. Turns out, he’s from China, and is wary of government claims in general, and government control of economic processes in particular. Interesting.

A bit later, my daughter and I went in search of the mini recycling dumpsters that lots of kids were carrying around. We found their source and obtained one, which turned out to be filled with candy, which thrilled my daughter, which made me laugh. As I was laughing, a guy walked by, saw us gazing at the candy-filled dumpster, and said sarcastically over his shoulder, “Your tax dollars paid for that.”

Finally, and probably most usefully, I visited my friends at the Watertown Citizens for Environmental Safety. They were posing the question, “How do you want your tax dollars spent?” I was given six beans and invited to place them into the jars representing the items I wanted my tax dollars to support. I gave my beans to my daughter, who turned out to be very supportive of veterans and the environment.

Are people talking a lot about taxes where you are? Where would you put your beans?  How does your answer to this question connect to your faith or theology?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faire on the Taxpayer-Funded Square

  1. Louise says:

    I was across the walkway from the Tax display operated by WCES Peace group. We were welcoming people at WCES Environmental group to have free water from the tap, sign up for our community garden and garden without pesticides. All noble things indeed. There is a huge connection between Peace and the Environment. Anyway, I took my six beans too. What a great exercise to use one’s body to vote for where our tax dollars go. Louise

  2. kitchenmudge says:

    Random visitor here. Your writing is simple and direct. I like that.
    For an interesting contrast with another street fair, see my Labor Day post:
    http://kitchenmudge.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/laboring/

Comments are closed.