Coffee: yes, Wireless: not today

Starbucks without wireless accessWhen I have work to do but need a strong cup of coffee and wireless access to do it,
I am known to take my custom to Starbucks. On a typical morning at the Starbucks on Mt. Auburn, as well as the one on Belmont St., the tables are mostly taken. And most of the mostly-taken tables sport a laptop computer.

Some folks are doing paid work. Some folks are doing grad school work. And some folks are looking for work (I’ve noticed that quite a few of the services offered on the Starbucks wireless “homepage” are targeted at folks looking for work; they know their demographic.)

Today the wireless wasn’t working. I didn’t realize this till I was all settled into my table, mug-o-joe in hand, laptop open. Ah, no wonder the place is so empty!

I know that many people hate seeing folks sitting around coffee shops with laptops. They think such souls are being anti-social and modeling drudgery. But I wonder. My experience, at least in Watertown caffeine watering holes, has been that people with computers are generally up for conversation. They greet friends and neighbors. They ask about my collar (“Are you a nun or something?”)

And at least they are there: out and about, seeing and seeable, present in the mix. They have gotten dressed and walked/biked/driven to a public place, which is quite a lot, really. I’ve exchanged business cards with at least a dozen people in the last year, had great conversations with people who have been laid off by companies they had served for years, and met a variety of fellow Episcopalians (The collar gives me away….). If I weren’t here, I would be alone in an office.

So I say vive la wireless. How about you?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.