Have an Artistic Day

What They Did on Their Summer Vacation

My kids are spending the tail end of their all-too-short summer at the Arsenal Center for the Arts. I just love going in there. The walls and the stairs and sometimes the ceilings display crops of creations. Sculptures, drawings, constructions, textiles that all began as an inspiration in a child’s mind.

Much as I love a good trip to the MFA or the ICA or any number of fine institutions of Official Art, kids’ creations such as those at the Arsenal Center give me a deeper joy. They delight with their honesty and wackiness. Some are stunningly beautiful. They give me hope that the same kids who are running pell-mell down the hallway now in their Crocs, anxious to turn toilet paper rolls and masking tape into a castle, will conjure up cures for cancer and end global warming some day. That so much beauty is created and delight expressed in a building that used to house weapons makes it quadruply cool.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have an Artistic Day

  1. Terri says:

    Absolutely cool!

Comments are closed.