Blessing for a Community Garden

What a beautiful celebration last Sunday, at Watertown’s new community garden! So many wonderful people worked for many months to make it happen. I was honored to be asked to offer a blessing. So I adapted an Ute prayer and asked everyone to co-bless the rich soil with me. Here’s the text of the prayer:

Blessing the Garden on Nichols Ave.


May the garden teach us stillness, as the grasses are stilled with light.
May the garden teach us humility, as blossoms are humble with beginning.
May the garden teach us courage, as the tree stands in solitude.
May the garden teach us limitation, as the ant which crawls on the ground.
May the garden teach us regeneration, as the seed which rises in the spring.
May the garden teach us kindness, as the dry plots weep with rain.
May the hungry be fed here, strangers become friends here, community be grown here.
May the garden bless and be blessed. Amen.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessing for a Community Garden

  1. Terri says:

    We have a community garden at the church I serve. Dan and I have planted in it along with 6 other people. I am not sure, though, that a blessing had been said. I like this prayer, maybe we’ll pray it next year, or in the fall as we harvest!

Comments are closed.