See you in church on May 22

Theologically nonplussed on Mt. Auburn St.

Several members of my church have commented on this sign, which is outside the church just up the street from us. The sign sez, “Resurrection: Which one will you be in?”

“What does it mean?” they ask, with a nervous giggle. “Not totally sure,” I reply, with a nervous giggle.

Maybe it’s referring to the rapture, that widely-held but not-so-biblically-sound idea that God is going to lift the saved “up” to “heaven,” and leave the rest here to experience really awful things for a while.

As you may have heard, a small group of folks, followers of Harold Camping, believe this is going to happen on May 21st. Like, in a couple weeks.

I don’t generally get all theological here. But I’m going to just go on record as not believing that. And I’m going to go on record as not believing that God wants us spending a lot of time sitting around predicting the date of the end. Nor does God want us living our lives in fear of it.

Our church doesn’t have a sign with moveable letters out front. If it did, I might post a quote from Julian of Norwich: “All will be well.” Or I might post this: “See you in church on May 22nd.”

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to See you in church on May 22

  1. allogenes says:

    I finally managed to find the Bible verse that I believe the sign is referring to:
    Acts 24:15

    This used to be generally understood to mean that at one and the same time all the dead will be raised, and sent to heaven and hell respectively; but now it seems from the commentaries I’ve seen on the Web that it’s gotten mixed up with rapture-talk so there are two resurrections at different times, first the Rapture and then (after the millennium I guess) the raising of everyone else for consignment to hell…

    • allogenes says:

      That’s weird, I meant to put the verse itself
      “I have a hope in God (a hope that these men themselves accept too) that there is going to be a resurrection of both the righteous and the unrighteous.”
      as a block quote, and the following words beginning “This used to be generally understood” as main text; still getting the hang of html.

  2. Terri says:

    yeah, I am not too worried about this either, not enough to lose any sleep over it…

  3. Jim says:

    My favorite online journaller, Rob Rummel-Hudsen, found a Ralph Waldo Emerson quote that sums it up: “No man has learned anything rightly, until he knows that everyday is Doomsday.” http://www.schuylersmonsterblog.com

Comments are closed.