And we’re back

Some of the people I was glad to see at Arsenal Park

The heart expands. The body rejoices. The face relaxes. After what most folks I know around here would agree was a grievous winter, spring has truly arrived. It took it’s own sweet time, didn’t it?! But now the green blade riseth from the buried grave, and we are glad indeed.

I happened to be in Arsenal Park on Monday afternoon, and the warm sun and vivid green grass brought out the extrovert in me. I just wanted to greet everyone there.
I just wanted to celebrate the goodness of the day, the gift of the sun and chance to be outside again. “Isn’t this amazing?!” I wanted to say to the guy chasing his adorable toddler. “What a great day!” I wanted to exclaim to the mall worker on his lunch break.

But I didn’t. I just smiled at them. This is New England, after all, and unless you’re at a Red Sox game or watching one on TV, spontaneous conversation with strangers is hard to pull off without someone thinking you nuts.

Where has the beauty of spring overwhelmed you lately?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we’re back

  1. Terri says:

    We have had an onslaught of drenching rain – weeks of it…endless, it seems. But today, and one or two days prior, the sun has come out turning the lush grass a deep green and calling the leaves to unfurl, even the tulips and jonquils seem brighter and to relish the pleasure of the sun shining in a cloudless sky. In Arizona we had endless days of cloudless skies and sun. That too was depressing, and we yearned for a week of cloudy days and rain, which rarely happened. So, I rejoice in the sunny day, knowing that I like the rainy ones too.

  2. Jim says:

    The birds this year seem to be crazy about spring too. Listening out my window in the early morning I hear louder birdsong with more variety than I can ever remember. And there is one crazy bird who won’t wait for sunrise — around 3:30 am this bird starts cheering for the sun to rise. We had to cut back some tree branches that were starting to envelope our house and the squirrels are letting us know they are not happy with it, joining the birds in the early morning with their chatter, much to the chagrin of our dog. I like both the dead silence of a snowy winter morning and the symphony of a noisy spring morning and I’m glad we get to experience them both.

Comments are closed.