Icicles are not forever

It’s a little hard to see, but this photo features a huge icicle. It’s the biggest one hanging off the roof of our church. About nine feet long. Now, I love winter, and I’m not afraid of a good snowstorm. Twelve years in Wisconsin changes one’s perspective on things frosty, mostly for the better.

But the last few weeks have been taxing. The shoveling, the hacking away at ice, the kids home from school again & again & again, the deep, unexpected puddles that send freezing liquid straight through ye olde leather boots. Our church is all about hospitality. So it’s stressful being completely unable to offer it to anyone for whom snow and ice pose a challenge on a path.

Most folks I know are rather frayed around the edges. Quick to snap. I’ve been pretty snappy, too. So I want to thank everyone for putting up with me. And I want to thank a lovely young woman in Watertown who destroyed the rear view window on my car. She was genuinely apologetic, promised to send me a check, and sent me a check. Breathe in, breathe out. Apologize. Take responsibility. Wait for the icicles to melt. They will.

An outward sign of an inward and spiritual annoyance

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Icicles are not forever

  1. Lindsey says:

    A great reminder … one I needed today. Thank you. xox

  2. Terri says:

    a really challenging winter all around…but I think the Boston area has been hit especially hard! I admit I got a little testy when we went without heat or electricity for 23 hours during the last blizzard and the temps were plunging to sub-zero…

    hoping that the thaw headed our way next week makes it your way too!…although we are going to flood as all this stuff melts.

    wouldn’t the world be a better place if we all too ownership of those testy moments we have and then apologize?

Comments are closed.