Just Say Hi

How friendly is Watertown? Are you friendly to everyone, or just to folks you know? If a stranger says hello to you, are you suspicious?

On our first trip to Scotland, my husband and I were amazed by the way people would just start talking to us at bus stops, in pubs, anywhere. It was startling at first, but after a few days, we found it really refreshing. And it wasn’t because we are American; they are just off-the-charts extroverts. How about here?

My friend Wendy started a campaign to get folks in Watertown to “Just say hi.” She printed t-shirts, got a booth at the Faire on the Square, started a blog. But she found that most people didn’t think there was a problem to solve.

What do you think? To whom are you most likely to say hi?

Glad to see you!

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Say Hi

  1. mompriest says:

    I usually don’t say Hi to people I pass in stores or on the street. I don’t mean to be rude, but I do want to respect people’s privacy (and I don’t want to look like I’m nutty…that’s sad, right? being friendly might look like a person is nutty?)…But if I’m standing in a line I might say something to people around me. Once, waiting in a LONG line in Chicago to get into a comedy theater, a whole group of us carried on a conversation for about a 45 minutes. That was fun. I like what your friend Wendy is doing….

Comments are closed.