14 shopping days til Halloween

Halloween used to be half a day long — It was the evening before All Saints Day. Now it’s about a month long. The candy is already getting stale on the shelves of supermarkets everywhere. I drove around Watertown yesterday enjoying the efforts people had put into their front-yard preparations for All Hallows Eve. Didn’t find anything truly scary, but I had a lot of fun. I particularly enjoyed the home where patriotism, Catholic devotion, and holiday mirth shared the stage.  I’m fascinated by the fact that in a culture where people are “too busy” to do a lot of things and “too poor” to contribute to a lot of things, so many people give their all for yard decoration. Americans spent $1.23 billion decorating their yards for Halloween last year. Money well spent? What are your thoughts? I conclude with a photo of my favorite Halloween decoration — a big pile of leaves to run through in the dark.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 14 shopping days til Halloween

  1. Christopher in Astoria says:

    There’s a house here in Queens, NY, that has a spooky fantasy village including four life-sized, inflatable ghosts lit from inside… I had mixed feelings when I walked by. On one hand, I admired the incredible effort it took to deck out the front yard. On the other I thought, “What a waste of electricity.”

    Your post captures that dichotomy—appreciating the efforts of our neighbors who decorate their houses, while wondering where our priorities lie. Wouldn’t it be nice to use that billion plus and make sure teachers weren’t being fired instead? And spend an afternoon with the kids cutting out scary faces and skeletons from old newspapers or other scrap paper… that sounds like more fun to me than buying sweat-shopped ghouls at WalMart.

  2. mompriest says:

    I’ve been fond of simple Halloween decorations – pumpkins carved by each member of my family…baskets of apples and lots of leaves, maybe a scarecrow? simple. We have been known to do a bit more for Christmas – but only lights – no figures or blown up snowpeople…however I know a number of people who do go all out for Halloween and Christmas, and have a lot of fun doing it. My feeling – if that’s something you enjoy, why not? Go for it. Just not big on my list….

  3. Karen S. says:

    Abingdon Square Park is in the heart of the Far West Village in New York City, where I live. A few years ago, the park crew posted signs asking neighbors to carve pumpkins and simply bring them to the park on Halloween evening. No contests, no judging, just a fun way for people to get a little creative (or VERY creative!) and come to our small park, which is also host to our weekly Greenmarket. Now we do it every year. The pumpkins just hang out in the park for a few days afterwards. Some sit on benches, others on the grass, and others by the WW1 Memorial. It’s just one of those nice things about being part of a community.

Comments are closed.