Our Lady of the Front Yard

 

Mary statue reaching out to pedestrians and motorists on Watertown street.

I enjoy front yard statuary. I like how it is both an effort at beautification and a wordless gesture of communications.  In some regions, yard Buddhas are very popular. In others, St. Francis is common. In southern Ohio, where I grew up, there was a yard globe fad for a while. I’d love to learn more about the history of front yard stuff (Someone has written an anthropology Ph D dissertation on this, no doubt).

Mary is very popular in Watertown. This photo shows a Mary who has had a pedestal built for her right inside the front yard fence on a Watertown side street. Clearly, the home owner wants Mary not just to bless those in the home but also those passing by. Perhaps he or she wants to remind those of us bustling by, weary with the changes and chances of this life, that Mary is praying for us.

My guess is that if I sat down with this homeowner, we would find that we have differing Mariologies. No matter. I am glad for the gesture, for the reminder of holy presence. Beats a yard globe any day.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Lady of the Front Yard

  1. mompriest says:

    Yard globes were very popular when I was young and living in Wisconsin. Big, small, red, purple, green, blue…like Christmas tree ornaments on cone….I have lived in places where St. Francis is a popular statue for yards and gardens, even had one myself – but the winds were so fierce most days it lay on its side instead of standing up and tending to the birds….. I tend to prefer bird feeders and plant hangers and flower boxes, or yard furniture where I can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee and the beauty of God’s creation. Still, some statues are beautiful, and a cause for reflection on God’s grace amongst the world as it is, as you articulate so well.

Comments are closed.