Propped Up

Some Monday mornings are harder than others. Yesterday as I busted out of the house at 8:32 am to get the kids to school on time, I didn’t feel rested and refreshed, ready to take on the week, filled with vim and clarity of purpose. I wondered where I would get the energy for the week ahead.

I somehow made through the day, not particularly gracefully, but with some semblance of presence. I attribute this to the Holy Spirit, who, according to Paul, “does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans.”

When I drove by this house yesterday, I laughed. I didn’t laugh at it, but with it. I was thankful for it. The porch is propped up, awaiting repairs, doing its job but with outside aid. I know how that is. Props for the porch, and props for the Spirit, too.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Propped Up

  1. mompriest says:

    Some days, months, and even years go by with me feeling as though I got through them with the grace and support of the Holy Spirit. Left on my own I would have collapsed. I love the photo – it’s a great image for being propped up!

Comments are closed.