Forgive/Humble

Eddie at the Faire on the Square

My daughter saw the spiderman-shaped balloon. So we had to go over. He had a booth at the Faire on the Square, with kids buzzing through enjoying a variety of balloons.

I noticed Eddie’s right arm, which was emblazoned with the word “Forgive.” So I asked him why. He told me the whole story — How God had intervened in his life when he was at rock bottom, taught him to forgive, to be humble. and now he was so thankful. He works as a drug and alcohol counselor, helping others learn to forgive. And he sells balloons.

The Faire is designed to help us meet our neighbors. I was thankful for this real encounter, for Eddie’s willingness to share his story. It made me wonder: what are commitments I hold so deeply that I would tatoo them on my arms?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forgive/Humble

  1. mompriest says:

    I’ve thought about a tatoo, now and then….if I were to tat a word it would probably be a chinese character for peace, or love, or more likely, hope. Yeah, hope. Of course hope is less a commitment than, well, a status of the soul, one that reflects the reality that God has a hold on me and won’t let go. And so, despite whatever life throws my way I still live in and with hope. Just is. Just do.

Comments are closed.