Road (De)construction

They’re all over Watertown this fall — “Road Closed” signs, attended by police officers and the din of construction. I spent lots of time today following detour signs and re-routing myself down streets I’d never travelled. I arrived late everywhere, but I had a lot of time to think about my own spiritual construction work.

A new job as a pastor is like a federal stimulus grant for vocational reconstruction. The thing about construction work is that it usually involves some de-construction work. Tearing down or tearing out what is, even if it’s in bad shape, is the hardest part.

As I’m moving into new community and a new role, I’m praying about and watching for what needs an overhaul in my soul, where to bring in the jack-hammer and where to excavate before rebuilding. I’d rather just keep driving down the road; it’s easier. Thank you to the Watertown Department of Public Works for reminding me, at every turn (literally), that deconstruction is a good thing.

the sun setting on another torn up road

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road (De)construction

  1. mompriest says:

    These last few years of my life, both in my vocation and in my personal life, have been a systematic deconstruction of, well, everything. Not that I wanted this. Not that I thought I “NEEDED” it….but for one reason or another it has happened. I look forward to the reconstruction process, the building up. Both are needed, both are difficult. Both, though end up bringing new life. Blessings on your new ministry.

Comments are closed.