Following the Bus

If you live or work in Watertown, and you drive a car, you have had the experience of finding yourself trapped behind the bus. This only happens to me when I am in a hurry. I am late for an appointment. The yoga class is about to start. The sands are running out of the hourglass on the babysitter’s commitment.

It is when I am following the bus, slowly, in starts and stops, at rush hour, that I think of Hildegard of Bingen, whose feast day is today (Friday). It is then that her patient wisdom leaps over the many centuries that separate us. The woman had perspective.

Listen: there was once a king sitting on his throne. Around him stood great and wonderfully beautiful columns ornamented with ivory, bearing the banners of the king with great honor. Then it pleased the king to raise a small feather from the ground, and he commanded it to fly. The feather flew, not because of anything in itself but because the air bore it along. Thus am I, a feather on the breath of God.

I am not the center of the universe. I am here by God’s grace. If I am running early, thanks be to God. If I am on time, thanks be to God. And if I am running late, thanks be to God. Happy to be, a lucky feather indeed.

Typcial view from my car

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Following the Bus

  1. mompriest says:

    I love Hildegard, especially her music.

Comments are closed.