Russo’s at Rest

I’m a huge Russo’s fan. When my children were very small and the stress of keeping them fed, diapered and rested seemed overwhelming, Russo’s was like medicine. As soon as my husband agreed to take the helm for a while, I would run to my car and drive to Russo’s, a Disneyland of culinary delights and fresh-picked escapism. After being greeted by rows of fresh flowers, I would walk the aisles listening to people comment on the varieties of lettuce in a variety of languages, reading the little cards describing cheeses the names of which I couldn’t pronounce, and taking as long as I could to decide which kind of fresh pasta to buy.

I pulled into Russo’s last night hoping to pick up a few things, but alas, I arrived after they had closed. It was even more beautiful than usual. No constant clanking of metal cart wheels, no jostling for position in the crowded aisle. Just the night sky, rows of quiet mums, and root vegetables bedded down under burlap and ice. Oddly, the classical music was still wafting over the loudspeakers. I wonder if they ever turn it off. I hope not.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Russo’s at Rest

  1. mompriest says:

    sounds like a delightful place to find some respite…

  2. Nelsy Peppler says:

    I agree and love Russo’s 2!

Comments are closed.