Sanctuary Sweet Home

I was waiting for the light to change, when I glanced over and saw the sign. It was right in front of one of those churches on Mt. Auburn Street that’s been converted into condo’s. “Your Home. Your Sanctuary.”

Truly a sign of the times, IMHO. Sanctuary used to be where *we* gathered to be reminded of our common peace, our common strength, to be healed and encouraged by one another’s presence, to raise our voices in four-part harmony or brew a pot of tea to share. These days, sanctuary seems to be more about getting away from one another, finding solace in front of a ginormous flat-screen TV, escaping any obligation to our neighbor.

I have nothing against people moving into condos that have been carved out of old churches. I bet it’s a beautiful space. I wish them all the best. But this sign leaves me wondering what they and you think about “sanctuary.” Where do you find it in Watertown? Are there ways we can offer it to one another, or create it together?

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sanctuary Sweet Home

  1. Mary Caulfield says:

    Hi Amy,

    It’s great to see your blog, and I look forward to following it. For me, Watertown is Mt. Auburn Cemetery, which I first discovered when I was living here as a rootless 20-something. Also, several of our parishioners live in Emerson Convalescent home, so I am familiar with Coolidge Hill Road. (I guess that’s more of a pilgrimage than a sanctuary.) Watertown is also a gateway to suburban bike rides in Newton and beyond. And of course, those wonderful grocery stores that sell all kinds of spices, pita bread, and lamejun! All of these things are possible to enjoy alone, but even better in community.

  2. mompriest says:

    Hi Amy, so cool to find your blog. I’ll add it to my blog roll so I can follow it easily. Many blessings on your new ministry! Terri (aka mompriest)

Comments are closed.