I heart banks

So I busted into my bank in Watertown Square to cash a check. I was waiting impatiently for him to process everything, when I glanced up. Wow. That’s just delightful! My teller had fashioned a simple heart out of a scrap of paper and placed it next to his name on the window sill.

On the one hand, this was no big deal. Just a little gesture. But on the other hand, it was an amazing act of creativity and hospitality. He had created something new out of something old, something meaningful our of something meaningless. Compared to the small statue of Our Lady of Fatima on the windowsill of another business down the street (which, the owner told me was *from* Fatima and had been officially blessed), this little heart was wacky. But that it had not existed earlier that morning, that the teller had had the guts to just put it out there in all its wackiness, made me happy.

We were all created to do stuff like this, really, to connect heart to heart. At our best, in small and grand ways, we can be imitators of the One who took a handful of dust and breathed into it whole-heartedly.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.