where it all starts

In a place called Watertown, you really have to start with the water. Watertown is so called because of the Charles River, up which Sir Richard Saltonstall and friends rowed in 1630, to establish the settlement that became Watertown. Those early settlers had an intimate relationship with the river: their lives and labors were dependent on it, and it was their central connection to other communities.

These days, thousands of people buzz through Watertown Square every day without noticing the Charles. Many days, I’m one of them. We relate to water differently these days. When was the last time you touched river water? How many people do you know who make their living from or in a river? When did you last stand and ponder the water flowing through town?

I wonder how and whether those early settlers prayed for the Charles River. I wonder whether you pray for the river, or pray about water at all. I’m part of a group of church folks who are thinking about how we can build prayers for creation more fully into our worship cycle.
I invite you to pay attention to water this week & see what words and prayer arise within you.

About amymccreath

I'm a pastor and mother who loves to make connections between people, between ideas, and between stuff we label "sacred" and "secular." I aspire to be like a Cedar of Lebanon in the midst of the changes and chances of life, but like most folks, generally find that I can really only navigate the tumult hand in hand with others. Good coffee helps, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to where it all starts

  1. Omar says:

    Thank you, Amy — great reflection! Reminds me of the good old meditation night at the MIT Rainbow Lounge. 🙂

  2. Emily VA says:

    I’ve gladly touched many rivers in my time, but the Charles was not among them. And a lot of the time it was hard to see it moving (unless you went upstream to the dam where the alewifes climb the fish ladders and the gulls prey on them). I guess cities control the wildness of rivers, and may lead to pollution in them, and all of that makes them less obstructive and perhaps compelling than their wild brethren. But I promise to think of water while we’re circumnavigating Lake Huron and visiting Lake Superior and Georgian Bay next week.

Comments are closed.